Skip to main content

2012 Inter-schools print competition

The awards ceremony for the 11th Ashford Photographic Society Inter-schools Print Competition was held at Highworth School yesterday. Six local schools took part - the highest number to date.

A brilliant array of work was on display, with a total of 458 submissions covering 6 major areas of photography: Artistic Interpretation (71 entries), Landscape  (88 entries), Natural History (90 entries), Photojournalism (36 entries), Pictorial (104 entries) and Portraiture (69 entries).

Prints on display

This year a special new award was donated by The Mayor Ashford, Councillor Bob Davidson, for a student showing exceptional promise This was won by Megan Motmans from Homewood.



Prize winners

Congratulations to overall winners Highworth School, finishing narrowly ahead of Homewood.

Full results are available to view as a PDF.

Special thanks go to:

  • Givaudan UK for their generous sponsorship of the competition
  • Highworth School for hosting the event, and in particular Jenny Moreton
  • The APS sub-committee of Gordon Chapman, Marjorie Burge and Sue Chapman who managed the event
  • The judge for the evening, Anthony Baines ARPS
  • Mick Gilbert, the projectionist
  • And all those others involved in making the event go off so smoothly: Neville Marsh, Marjorie Burge, Ian Macey, Chris Shore, Trevor Measday, Katrina Devenport and Michael Colvin