Skip to main content

Club Report - Awards Night

Marjorie Burge writes:

On Friday 27th May, the final evening of our 2015/16 season, a group of happy photographers sat down to our Awards Night and Buffet Supper.  Some had come to collect their awards, all had come to enjoy the company of friends and the amazing food.  It is always good to have an opportunity for longer conversations with fellow photographers than time allows for on a club evening.  We were delighted to welcome our guest speaker for the evening, Ray Bridges LRPS CPAGB ADPS BPE3*, a member of Maidstone Camera Club and Tenterden Camera Club, together with his wife Ann.  Ray, who is a good friend of APS and has judged many of our competitions, gave us an insight into his passion for photography, and then assisted with the awarding of the trophies at the end of the evening. 

Congratulations go to all the winners and runners up in all competitions.  We are a relentlessly competitive club and while many of the photographers appear many times on the awards list, it is good to see some of our newer members making their mark.  Please don’t be put off from entering competitions by the high standard of work, taking part is what it is all about.  We were all pleased to see the Endeavour Trophy awarded to Ian Macey without whom we would not have this wonderful website. 

We break now until the beginning of September 2016, although there is one more date in the diary; our ‘Social Afternoon’ hosted by Dennis Peebles on 17th July – once again an opportunity for good company, good food and a dip in the pool.  Keep an eye on the website and emails for any outings arranged during the summer months. 

Awards for the 2015/16 Season 

League Competitions

PDI Division 1 First Place Martin Till
Runner up Philip Hinton

PDI Division 2 First Place Anthony Wright
Runner up George Pearson

PDI Division 3 First Place Maria O’Connell
Runner up Mike Pepper

Print Division 1 First Place Anthony Baines
Runner up Anthony Wright

Print Division 2 First Place Kyle Tallett
Runner up Ian Macey

Print Division 3 First Place Les Gordon
Runner up Marcello Tomasini

Overall Winner First Place Anthony Wright
Runner up Kyle Tallett

Trophy Competitions

Small Print First Place Fiona Beadle
for the George Downe Memorial Cup Runner up Dominique Huxley

Annual Exhibition Anthony Wright with The Loch

Rural Landscape Competition First Place Anthony Wright with Calmed
for the John Wigmore Trophy Runner up Chris Yates with Pulpit Rock Portland Bill

Theme Competition First Place Avril Christensen with Cycles
Runner up Avril Christensen with Job Advert For The Tannery Fez

Record Competition for the Janet Morris Memorial Trophy First Place David Marsh with Marble Plaque Dedicated to The Harpist Carolan (Died 1738) St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Dublin
Runner up Les Gordon with Hurricane BE505

Portrait Competition for the First Place Anthony Wright with Don’t Go
Tony Culver Trophy Runner up Kyle Tallett with Jon

Natural History Competition First Place Stephen Cheek with Crossing The Mara
for the Bill Waters Trophy Runner up Chris Rogers with Speckled Throated Volcano Humming Bird

Natural History Action Stephen Cheek
For the Stephen Cheek Trophy with Having a Bad Day in The Masai Mara

Chairman’s Salver First Place Kyle Tallett with Amber In Reflection
Runner up David Marsh with Liverpool Reflections

Panel Competition for the First Place Anthony Wright with Aspects of Loch Broom
Chris Shore Driftwood Trophy Runner up Chris Shore with Fallen

Endeavour Trophy Ian Macey

Photographs of the night (taken by Martin Till):