Skip to main content

Driftwood Trophy Print Panel Competition (29.Apr)

Marjorie Burge writes:

On Friday 29th April, the judge for the Driftwood Trophy Print Panel Competition (donated by Chris Shore FRPS) was Roger Force FRPS DPAGB APAGB, of Dartford & District Camera Club.  Roger is a KCPA Premier judge, a PAGB judge, and sits on the KCPA judges panel and the RPS licentiate panel.

Roger approached the evening on a serious note, giving us the benefit of his wealth of experience in putting panels together, stressing that the layout of the images was essential to a successful panel.  Each panel, and each image within the panel, was given his close attention, some just four images, some the maximum of six.  In just a few, he rearranged the images to give what he considered to be a better balance to the panel, giving the panel importance over and above the separate images.  He stressed how impressed he was with the high standard of all panels entered in the competition, and apologised that he had to eliminate some of high quality in order to choose his final three.

Anthony Wright was the overall winner of the Driftwood Trophy and congratulations to all those brave enough to enter what is a time-consuming but rewarding competition.

1st Anthony Wright with Aspects of Lock Broom;  2nd Chris Shore with Fallen;  3rd George Pearson with f2.8 Early Spring.

f2.8 Early Spring by George Pearson

Next Friday 6th May we have Baden Bowen on a return visit to APS inviting us to explore his photographic world. We are nearing the end of our season now but visitors and new members still welcome.