Skip to main content


Report courtesy of Marjorie Burge.

We held our Annual General Meeting on Friday 20th April. The meeting was well attended. There were a few proposed amendments to competition rules in an effort to avoid ambiguity over just how often the same image could appear, and in what form, and hopefully the final agreed wording will now mean we can all enter our best work and still abide by the rules. The major change is that with respect to league competitions, an image entered as a print cannot be entered again as a PDI or vice-versa.

Neville Marsh, who has been a member of APS for more than fifty years, stood down as President to take a well-earned rest – his experience and wisdom will be missed by the committee. Chris Shore, who is also a long-serving member of APS, was voted in as our new President, so we are in safe hands. 

Philip Hinton was re-elected as Chairman and Katrina Devenport will continue as Secretary, but gave warning that she would be standing down at the next AGM, when she will have held the post for 25 years.
Stephen Cheek takes over from George Pearson as Programme Secretary, with the remainder of the committee all re-elected.

Next Friday, 27th April, we have David Silk judging the Driftwood Trophy Print Panel Competition. This is always a fascinating competition where up to six related images 'linked by content or technique' are entered as a panel. Visitors welcome.

Spring has finally arrived!

We meet every Friday at Givaudan Sports and Social Club, Kennington Road, Ashford TN24 0LT starting at 7.30, with coffee and bar facilities. We break for summer recess at the end of May, so only a few meetings left this season, but still time for visitors and new members to come along and see what we do. We are a very friendly club with photographers of all levels; tuition is given at workshops for members and on club outings members can team up to gain experience. You are welcome to come along as a visitor, talk things through and make some friends before making that final decision Find out all about us at or telephone our Secretary Katrina Devenport on 01303 814842 if you have any questions.